Amiga demo scene on a Raspberry Pi

Rob Brammeld
2 min readNov 30, 2019

--

https://archive.org/details/Amiga_Demobase_Version_3

Demobase Amiga on Archive is a 10.42gb download and is on it’s third release. It includes WHDLoad versions of demos (nearly 1200 of them) which work great on the Raspberry Pi. I’d already created an image for the which had all the games for the Amiga (everyone all 2,231 to be precise)

thanks to the help of a great community page on Facebook. I had wanted to add some demo’s to the image as the demo scene was really where my heart was with the Amiga. The UK and Europe lead the way in the scene with groups like Anarchy, Silents, Melon Design all putting out quality products.

Demobase V3 has over 20,000+ demo / intros and collections from the scene. Virtually everything that was released. Wow I used to have 1,000s of disks and only scratched the surface with physical amiga disk collections where now I can get everything on a thumbstick (that still blows my mind).

So I downloaded the zip file, extracted it onto my external hard drive connected to my desktop and booted up winscp to ftp directly onto the pi ready to copy things across.

The collection of games I had on the pi image were courtesy of retropie and Amiberry emulator. The kind souls at the amiga rasp pi group on facebook had built a collection of already configured games, boxart, config files and autobooting WHD magic.

Browsing through the directory on the pi there is a

/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/amiga

directory which contains all the .uae config files for the games.

then in

/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/amiga-data/

directory is a directory for each game which contains the unpacked WHD files for the game.

So I created a

/home/pi/Retropie/roms/amiga-demos/

Directory and started putting some favourite demos in there.

Running amiberry without any games or config files allows me to set everything up for each demo.

Success. Seeing is believing by Anarchy is running as sweet as you like :)

--

--

Rob Brammeld

Father, Husband, Geek,Gamer,Photographer, lover of all things Pearl Jam and now learning the Guitar so I can be just like Stone.